World champions Italy were drawn with Brazil in the same group for next year's Confederation Cup but European champions Spain were handed much softer options for the two-week event in South Africa.

Italy and Brazil will play each other in the final match of Group B of the World Cup test event in June. African champions Egypt and the United States are the other two sides in the group.Spain, who won Euro 2008 in June, were drawn in Group A with South Africa, Asian champions Iraq and New Zealand.

The tournament is made up of the six continental champions plus World Cup winners Italy and hosts South Africa. Brazil are defending champions from Germany in 2005. The tournament is being played at four of the 10 World Cup venues - Ellis Park in Johannesburg; Bloemfontein, Pretoria and Rustenburg. The final is at Ellis Park on June 28.

The Groups;

Group A
South Africa
New Zealand

Group B
United States

Here are the 1st round schedule - so mark your calendar;
Sunday 14 June
South Africa vs Iraq (Johannesburg)
New Zealand vs Spain (Rustenburg)

Monday 15 June
Brazil vs Egypt (Mangaung/Bloemfontein)
USA vs Italy (Tshwane/Pretoria)

Wednesday 17 June
Spain vs Iraq (Mangaung/Bloemfontein)
South Africa vs New Zealand (Rustenburg)

Thursday 18 June
USA vs Brazil (Tshwane/Pretoria)
Italy vs Egypt (Johannesburg)

Saturday 20 June
Iraq vs New Zealand (Johannesburg)
South Africa vs Spain (Mangaung/Bloemfontein)

Sunday 21 June
Italy against Brazil (Tshwane/Pretoria)
USA against Egypt (Rustenburg)

See the video of The Official Draw for the FIFA Confederations Cup South Africa 2009;

For more videos of FIFA Confederation Cup 2008, visit here


Your Ad Here

Recent Entries

The Glorious of Footy Images

The Glorious of Footy Videos

Glorious Links