From my previous entry: FIFPro World XI Award 2008

FIFPro, the world players’ union have announced their World Player of the Year and World XI. Man United’s brilliant Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo has lifted the 2007-2008 title. The award was made to a delighted Ronaldo today in Manchester.

FIFPro’s (Fédération Internationale des Footballeurs Professionels) 57,500 members around the globe cast their votes and Champion’s League winner Cristiano Ronaldo came out on top. He takes over from Milan’s Kaká who has held the title for the last year.

Cristiano Ronaldo commented:

“To be recognized by my fellow professional players worldwide coming from over 50,000 players is amazing. I would like to thank my teammates and coaches and everyone involved at Man United and the national team, as well as my family and friends for their support. Thank you also to FIFPro for this award and for your work in protecting the interests and welfare of players around the world.“

FIFPro members also voted for their team of the year. The side was comprised of a goalkeeper, four defenders, three midfielders and three forwards.

The FIFPro World XI is:

Goalkeeper – Iker Casillas (Spain/ Real Madrid)

Defenders – Sergio Ramos (Spain/ Real Madrid), John Terry (England/ Chelsea), Carles Puyol (Spain/ Barcelona) and Rio Ferdinand (England/ Manchester United)

Midfielders - Steven Gerrard (England/ Liverpool), Xavi (Spain/ Barcelona) and Ricardo Kaká (Brazil/AC Milan).

Forwards – Lionel Messi (Argentina/ Barcelona), Fernando Torres (Spain/ Liverpool), and Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/ Manchester United)


Your Ad Here

Recent Entries

The Glorious of Footy Images

The Glorious of Footy Videos

Glorious Links